Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

SpoVNet: Spontane Virtuelle Netze - Methodik zur Beherrschbarkeit heterogener Kommunikationsnetze

SpoVNet: Spontane Virtuelle Netze - Methodik zur Beherrschbarkeit heterogener Kommunikationsnetze

SpoVNet (Spontaneous Virtual Networks)

SpoVnet

The Spontaneous Virtual Network (SpoVNet) research project develops overlay-based tools and techniques for easy development and spontaneous deployment of distributed network applications and services. As a step forward on the migration path towards the Internet of the future, SpoVNet is able to cope with the challenges raised by an evolving network

Motivation

Today's scenery of communication is highly affected by an increasing heterogeneity of network technologies, mainly based upon the multitude of existing - wired and wireless - network access standards (like IEEE802.x, Bluetooth, ZigBee, ISDN or DSL). This heterogeneity conflicts with the homogenization through ATM (Asynchronous Transfer Mode) that has been announced some years ago. In the meantime it has been understood that there will be no universal solution for all requirements. So the given heterogeneity raises big challenges regarding the controlability of complex, global communication systems.

SpoVNet follows the approach of providing spontaneous communication by composing algorithms and protocols that allow self-organization in distributed systems. Such self-organizing systems are able to adapt to the given requirements and network loads flexibly and without further involvement of administrative expenditure. Thus, various applications (speech communication, distributed games, downloads, traffic telematics and tv transfer for instance) should be seamlessly usable over different, heterogeneous network technologies ("any time, any where, any service"). Regarding this scenario, the applications have to be able to adjust themselves to the actual given situations of the users in their real environments dynamically. Furthermore, communication networks will have to offer the individual service demands concerning group communication, security, signaling and mobility management. In this context today's solutions are restricted to a static kind of provision only.

Although it is possible to configure so-called VPNs (Virtual Private Networks) to match specific requirements, the configuration is quite static and complex. So a spontaneous solution is to be preferred instead. The main objective of spovnets (spontaneous virtual networks) is exactly to accomplish this intention of providing the actual arising service needs spontaneously, autonomously and adaptively.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

SpoVNet: Spontane Virtuelle Netze - Methodik zur Beherrschbarkeit heterogener Kommunikationsnetze

SpoVNet: Spontane Virtuelle Netze - Methodik zur Beherrschbarkeit heterogener Kommunikationsnetze

SpoVNet (Spontane Virtuelle Netze)

SpoVnet

Das Forschungsprojekt über spontane virtuelle Netze (SpoVNet) entwickwelt overlay-basierte Werkzeuge und Techniken zur einfachen Entwicklung und spontanen Ausbringung verteilter Netzwerkanwendungen und -dienste. Auf dem Weg hin zum Internet der Zukunft ist SpoVNet in der Lage mit den Anforderungen sich entwicklender Netzwerke mituzuhalten und neue Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.

Motivation

Die heutige Kommunikationslandschaft zeichnet sich durch eine wachsende Heterogenität von Kommunikationstechniken aus, die vor allem auf die Vielfalt der Netzzugangstechniken (wie etwa IEEE802.x, Bluetooth, ZigBee, ISDN oder DSL) zurückzuführen ist. Eben diese Vielfalt steht in Kontrast zur Homogenisierung durch ATM (Asynchronous Transfer Mode), die vor wenigen Jahren angestrebt war. In der Zwischenzeit wurde verstanden, dass es keine universelle Lösung für alle Ansprüche geben wird. Aus diesem Grunde gehen mit besagter Heterogenität große Herausforderungen in Bezug auf die Beherrschbarkeit komplexer, globaler Kommunikationssysteme einher.

SpoVNet verfolgt den Ansatz, spontane Kommunikation in verteilten Systemen durch den Einsatz von selbstorganisierenden Algorithmen und Protokollen zu gewährleisten. Deratige Systeme passen sich an die Gegebenheiten und Auslastungen des Netzes flexibel an und bedürfen keines weiteren administrativen Aufwandes. Zahlreiche Anwendungen (beispielsweise Sprachkommunikation, verteilte Spiele, Downloads, Verkehrstelematik und TV-Übertragungen) können so über heterogenen Netzwerktechnologien nahtlos nutzbar gemacht werden ("any time, any where, any service"). Mit Hinblick auf diese Szenarien muss sich das System an die jeweiligen Situationen der Anwender in ihrem realen Umfeld dynamisch anpassen. Desweiteren müssen die Kommunikationsnetze individuelle Dienste betreffend der Gruppenkommunikation, Sicherheit, Signalisierung und Mobilitätsmanagement erbringen. In diesem Kontext existieren heute bislang nur statische Lösungen.

Obwohl man durch die Nutzung sogenannter VPNs (Virtual Private Networks) auch heute schon bestimmten Anforderungen genügen kann, ist deren Konfiguration zumeist statisch und komplex. Deshalb ist eine spontane Lösung wünschenswert. Dies ist genau das Hauptziel von SpoVNet, nämlich die spontane, autonome und adaptive Erbringen von heute und in Zukunft aufkomender Dienstansprüche.